You are here

  1. Home
  2. Award
  3. The Open University Business School shortlisted for Times Higher Education Awards

The Open University Business School shortlisted for Times Higher Education Awards

Times Higher Education Awards 2016 image

The Open University Business School (OUBS) has been shortlisted in two prestigious categories of the Times Higher Education (THE) Awards 2016.

The awards celebrate the best of UK higher education institutions. Shortlisting demonstrates industry recognition of the impact that the Business School has on individuals, organisations and society both in the UK and internationally. 

The Times Higher Education Awards set industry standards for excellence. Typically well over half of all UK universities submit entries for these coveted awards, so being shortlisted in these two categories is a significant achievement. We are delighted to be recognised by industry peers in this way.

Professor Rebecca Taylor
Executive Dean of OUBS

Our entry for Business School of the Year demonstrated our commitment to social impact through the creation of Centres of Excellence that combine impact-based research and innovative free teaching, via Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs), which together influence policy and address educational requirements in the areas of personal finance capability and voluntary sector leadership. This is the third time OUBS has been shortlisted in this category.

OUBS is recognised in the Outstanding Employer Engagement Initiative category for our work with the NHS to develop a leadership programme which enabled line managers to offer improvement-focussed and compassionate leadership.

The Open University is also shortlisted in the Outstanding Support for Students category, for our online ‘freshers experience’ which enables students, tutors and a range of staff to connect, learn and support each other.


Business School of the Year

  • Alliance Manchester Business School, University of Manchester
  • Leeds University Business School
  • Manchester Metropolitan University Business School
  • Nottingham Business School, Nottingham Trent University
  • The Open University Business School
  • Strathclyde Business School, University of Strathclyde

Outstanding Employer Engagement Initiative

  • University of Derby
  • Durham University Business School
  • Liverpool John Moores University
  • Newcastle University
  • Nottingham Trent University
  • The Open University Business School

Outstanding Support for Students

  • Cardiff University
  • Middlesex University
  • The Open University
  • University of Sheffield
  • Sheffield Hallam University
  • University of Wolverhampton

Winners will be announced on Thursday 24 November 2016 at an awards ceremony in London.